SouthWest Florida Marine Aquarium Society
prussiap

Also New

Hi All,

I'm back in SWFL after a bit of a saunter through america. My last reef tank was a gorgeous self sustaining (other then fresh water) reef tank that ran on it's own for more then 5years. Went on vacation and the person taking care of the dog apparently forgot to just add a few gallons of fresh water and it completely died on me before I came home :( ..

It took me about 10 years to decide to even consider doing this again but i'm here. I'm thinking of going into pico/nano size. I'm by no means a newbie but due to health/disability moving and stuff it's better to go small and FL provides saltwater and live sand easily :).

Anyway I can't wait to chat with others that love this hobby and maybe find anybody willing to donate some real live sand from a stable full of critters tank to get my new baby going when i decide to start :) ..

I hope to attend the next meeting and join in with others. I have sorely missed having all sorts of reef critters to watch but it took a LONG time to heal from that loss.

Thanks for the great forum and community,

David

Welcome back to SWFL and back to the hobby. With a name like David, you must be a great guy. Looking forward to meeting you.

Welcome back

Nothing wrong with going pico or nano

Lots of great choices out there. Innovative Marine, JBJ, Red Sea setups are a good place to start looking.

Innovative marine has some cool concepts for smaller tanks. Sounds like you might enjoy their fusion line.

Hi...Welcome back to the hobby.

I know how difficult is to try to stay away from it. I tried to quit many times but I have never been successful. I really think that is the joy and fulfillment that this hobby bring to each of us. I guess that once you get to be an aquarist it will remain in you always.