SouthWest Florida Marine Aquarium Society
wingsfan

Is My Clam Dying?

I moved my clam today higher in the tank for it to get more light because it wasn't fully opening anymore. I noticed that there appears to be a whole in the mantle inside the clam. I have attached two pics of it. one regular and one close up. I am not sure if this is normal or is it dying?

post-2987-030052100 1308090825_thumb.jpg

post-2987-008829400 1308090826_thumb.jpg

Gary,

I'm not seeing anything in the pics other than a couple of spots in the mantel. Is the hole around the inlet/mouth? I'm not a clam expert by any means but I have done a lot of reading online before I bought mine, and want to help.

Will

It looks like something has been nipping on the mantle. What fish do you have in your tank

I have the following fish

yellow tang

unicorn tang

orange shoulder tang

2 molly miller blenny

maderin goby

midas blenny

fire wrasse

2 clowns

pygmy angel

dottyback (don't remember the type)

Gary,

I'm not seeing anything in the pics other than a couple of spots in the mantel. Is the hole around the inlet/mouth? I'm not a clam expert by any means but I have done a lot of reading online before I bought mine, and want to help.

Will

This is the whole i was talking about but now I have done a bit of research I think it is supposed to be there.

post-2987-088313100 1308095297_thumb.jpg

Yes that hole is supposed to be there and if I'm not mistaken on a crocea it is open more than on other clams. Look up "gaping" on RC to make sure yours isn't gaping.

Will

Looks like the normal mouth to me, are there any other holes in the mantle? It doesn't look that bad, not fully extended, but not bad - observe the tank a while so the fish go back to their normal routine and see if any of them are picking a little... I had a derasa that my tangs would not leave alone...